You are here: Home / FIBA / DeMar DeRozan Makes The Cut For Team USA

DeMar DeRozan Makes The Cut For Team USA

USA Basketball National Team Managing Director Jerry Colangelo announced Friday night the 12 players who will represent the United States at the 2014 FIBA World Cup in Spain. They are:

DeMarcus Cousins (Sacramento Kings)
Stephen Curry (Golden State Warriors)
Anthony Davis (New Orleans Pelicans)
DeMar DeRozan (Toronto Raptors)
Andre Drummond (Detroit Pistons)
Kenneth Faried (Denver Nuggets)
Rudy Gay (Sacramento Kings)
James Harden (Houston Rockets)
Kyrie Irving (Cleveland Cavaliers)
Mason Plumlee (Brooklyn Nets)
Derrick Rose (Chicago Bulls)
Klay Thompson (Golden State Warriors)

Kyle Korver, Chandler Parsons, Gordon Hayward and Damian Lillard will not be joining their National teammates in Spain.

The only slight surprise was Colangelo decided to keep all three young centers, Cousins, Plumlee and Drummond and let the stretch four Parsons go, but this was really a decision about which 11th and 12th man to bring along rather than deciding about rotation players.


Stephen_Brotherston_insideStephen Brotherston covers the Toronto Raptors and visiting NBA teams at the Air Canada Centre and is a member of the Professional Basketball Writers Association.