You are here: Home / NBA News / Raptors NBA All-Star Press Release

Raptors NBA All-Star Press Release

The Toronto Raptors announced:

Fourth player in team history to participate in All-Star Game

The NBA announced Thursday that guard DeMar DeRozan has been named as a reserve to the Eastern Conference team for the 2014 All-Star Game. DeRozan is the fourth Raptor selected to the All-Star Game, joining Vince Carter (5X), Antonio Davis and Chris Bosh (5X).

The 63rd NBA All-Star Game will be exclusively televised on TSN / TNT on Sunday, February 16, 2014 from New Orleans Arena (8 p.m. ET). The All-Star Game will collectively reach fans in 215 countries and territories in more than 40 languages.

DeRozan was selected ninth overall in the 2009 NBA Draft. This season he is averaging career highs in points (21.8), rebounds (4.7), assists (3.6), steals (1.19), blocks (0.47) and minutes (37.7). DeRozan ranks 11th in the NBA in scoring and seventh in minutes. He has scored 30 or more points six times this year, including a career-high 40 points January 22 vs. Dallas.

A product of USC in his fifth season, DeRozan has career averages of 16.0 points and 3.7 rebounds in 347 games with the Raptors. He ranks fifth on the team’s all-time scoring list (5,547 points) and seventh in games played.

DeRozan will make his third appearance at NBA All-Star Weekend. He participated in the Sprite Slam Dunk in 2010 and 2011 and played in the 2011 T-Mobile Rookie Challenge.

The reserves were chosen by the 30 NBA head coaches, who voted for seven players within their conference, including two guards, three frontcourt players and two players regardless of position. Coaches were not permitted to vote for players on their own team. If a player is unable to participate in the All-Star Game, the NBA Commissioner will select the replacement.

Indiana’s Frank Vogel and Oklahoma City’s Scott Brooks will coach the East and West All-Stars as the Pacers and Thunder have already clinched the best record in the respective conferences through games played February 2.

DeRozan will be joined on the Eastern Conference team by two other first-time selections – the Atlanta Hawks’ Paul Millsap and Washington Wizards’ John Wall. The Brooklyn Nets’ Joe Johnson, Pacers’ Roy Hibbert, Chicago Bulls’ Joakim Noah and Miami Heat’s Chris Bosh were also selected as reserves.

Selected to start for the East – after final returns of NBA All-Star Balloting 2014 presented by Sprint — were the New York Knicks’ Carmelo Anthony, the Pacers’ Paul George, the Cleveland Cavaliers’ Kyrie Irving, and the Heat’s Dwyane Wade and LeBron James.

NBA All-Star 2014 in New Orleans will bring together some of the most talented and passionate players in the league’s history for a global celebration of the game. TNT will televise the All-Star Game for the 12th consecutive year, marking Turner Sports’ 30th year of All-Star coverage. State Farm All-Star Saturday Night will feature Sears Shooting Stars, Taco Bell Skills Challenge, Foot Locker Three-Point Contest, and Sprite Slam Dunk. Other events at NBA All-Star 2014 will include the BBVA Compass Rising Stars Challenge, Sprint NBA All-Star Celebrity Game, and NBA All-Star Jam Session. The 2014 game will mark the second NBA All-Star celebration in New Orleans. The city also hosted the event in 2008.


Carmelo Anthony (New York)    7 times

Chris Bosh (Miami)         9 times

DeMar DeRozan (Toronto)        1st time

Paul George (Indiana)        2 times

Roy Hibbert (Indiana)        2 times

Kyrie Irving (Cleveland)    2 times

LeBron James (Miami)        10 times

Joe Johnson (Brooklyn)         7 times

Paul Millsap (Atlanta)        1st time

Joakim Noah (Chicago)        2 times

Dwyane Wade (Miami)        10 times

John Wall (Washington)        1st time

Head Coach: Frank Vogel (Indiana)
Assistant Coaches: Dan Burke; Nate McMillan; Popeye Jones

Athletic Trainer: Wally Blase (Atlanta)


LaMarcus Aldridge (Portland)    3 times

Kobe Bryant (L.A. Lakers)    16 times

Stephen Curry (Golden State)    1st time

Kevin Durant (OKC)        5 times

Blake Griffin (L.A. Clippers)    4 times

James Harden (Houston)        2 times

Dwight Howard (Houston)        8 times

Damian Lillard (Portland)    1st time

Kevin Love (Minnesota)        3 times

Dirk Nowitzki (Dallas)        12 times

Tony Parker (San Antonio)    6 times

Chris Paul (L.A. Clippers)    7 times

Head Coach: Scott Brooks (OKC)

Assistant Coaches: Rex Kalamian; Mark Bryant; Brian Keefe; Robert Pack; Mike Terpstra

Athletic Trainer: Jon Ishop (New Orleans)